‘Shock Totem’ to Publish First Book

In May, Shock Totem Publications will be releasing its first non-magazine related product. The company is re-releasing a book, The Wicked by James Newman.

An ode to 1980s horror, The Wicked is Newman’s second book, which was originally published in 2007 in limited edition hardcover. The new version features revised text, a new foreword by Mark Allan Gunnells, a new afterword by Newman, and brilliant new artwork and illustrations by Jesse David Young (with additional cover layout by Yannick Bouchard). Also included is a brand new, exclusive tie-in short story the author wrote specifically for this release.

The Wicked will be released in paperback and e-book formats.

Newman is the author of the critically-acclaimed Midnight Rain and Animosity, the short-story collection People Are Strange, and the novellas The Forum, Revenge Flick! and Olden.

Praise for the novel:

The Wicked is a good old-fashioned, unabashed horror novel. James Newman remembers when horror used to be fun, and he’s recaptured it here in all of its gory glory. A terrifying page-turner in the tradition of Graham Masterton, J.N. Williamson, and Richard Laymon. WICKEDly good reading from of horror’s new heirs!”

Brian Keene, author of The Rising, City of the Dead and Ghoul said, “Demons, depravity and despair, oh my! Reminiscent of the best of 80’s horror and Bentley Little at his most grotesque and unrelenting, The Wicked is the kind of horror we don’t see enough of anymore. This is one wild and bloody ride, and in the capable hands of James Newman, it’s one worth taking.”

From Kealan Patrick Burke, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of The Turtle Boy and Kin: The Wicked will be released in paperback and e-book formats. More details will follow closer to release. If you have any questions, please let us know.”

‘Ghoul’ Arises Back in Print and on Film

Two-time Bram Stoker Award-winning author Brian Keene’s Ghoul has recently been released with a new edition by Deadite Press. It tells the story of Timmy Graco and his two friends who risk their lives to stop a rash of disappearances in town, happening in the town in the summer of 1984.  It’s a great novel that is hard to put down. It will make you nostalgic for the songs and toys Keene mentions that were popular during that time.

Ghoul cover (courtesy of Brian Keene's website)

The movie based on the novel premieres at the Slamdance Film Festival on Jan. 22 at 4 p.m. and Keene will be in attendance. It will also be shown at the Sundance Film Festival. The movie is directed by Greg Wilson (The Girl Next Door) and the screenplay was written by William M. Miller (Headspace).

The movie comes to the Chiller channel in April.

Find out more about Keene on his website.